A green resolution for 2010

For the past few years I have not had your typical resolution on New Years, instead I have decided on picking one way to go green and switch to it, permanently .  I find that the peer pressure involved with my going green New Year’s resolution is much harder than the resolution itself.   

Last year on January 1st 2009 I made it a point to use strictly cloth napkins when in my home.  I had to modify it to my home because it was going a bit far to be a guest at someone’s house and demand a linen napkin. 

I did my best and have to say that 8 out of 10 times I would use a cloth napkin and even get my fiancé who rarely uses napkins as it is, to join me.  He sometimes would get annoyed with this but for the ladder part of the year has stopped complaining and jumped on the bandwagon realizing that complying is much easier than having an entire conversation about why I am forcing him to do this. 

I have been thinking a lot lately about this year’s green resolution and besides my bizarre issue of recycling used foil, I think I am as green as I can get.  Now that I am a homeowner with my very own backyard, I have decided this year to invest in a clothes line.  I am hoping to dry all of my laundry if not at least 50% of it via clothesline this spring and summer! 

I have compiled a small list for those of you who need some ideas for having a greener resolution this year!

  • Wash all your laundry in cold water.
  • Switch to cloth napkins.
  • Walk instead of drive.
  • Invest in a clothes line.
  • Set your thermostat 3 degrees lower than you usually do.
  • Shut your lights off as you leave a room.
  • Install sensor lights outside.
  • Unplug all unnecessary electrical items (lamps, coffee pot ect.)

I hope you all have a truly GREEN New Year!

Posted by: Kate Kiselka, Follow me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

