Disposable dinnerware is no longer trash.

I have to admit by the end of holiday dinners at my house I am exhausted, a huge thank you to my mother and mother-in-law for helping clean up all the dishes after Thanksgiving this year.  I was however scared at the thought of adding one more dish to the dishwasher so we used paper plates for dessert.  Afterwards when cleaning up I was disappointed with the fact that I chose to use them.  I get made fun of and even dismissed at the fact that I rarely ever use paper plates and napkins, except in the summer time when it almost seems unnatural to eat that grilled hotdog off of a glass plate and not a Dixie plate with the pretty summer motif that I so carefully selected.

I then decided on researching and finding affordable, tasteful, fully biodegradable disposable tableware.  There are so many products now and you are no longer limited to the overpriced set of four biodegradable products at whole foods that I really economically could not realistically afford with the large gatherings at our house, I would much rather run the dishwasher twice.

Branch is a great company that offers an array of products that are made from recycled materials.  They also have a huge selection of biodegradable dinnerware which is made from 100% sugar cane fiber.  They are unbleached and FDA approved making them a great selection for anyone’s next dinner party.  Branch also has a new line called Wasara which is made from 100% tree-free renewable materials (sugar cane fiber, bamboo, and reed pulp).  It is a very attractive and modern twist on the traditonal boring paper plate.

There are many other biodegradable, compostable and even recyclable replacements to the more common paper plate.  It is a wise choice for the environment as well as the consumer who gains the effort of recycling as well as a beautiful addition to any dinner party.

Some other great companies who make wonderful eco friendly disposable dinnerware are:

LetsGoGreen.biz

Primeware

ECO products

By: Kate Kiselka, Follow me on Twitter

2 Responses

  1. Kate,
    Thanks for doing the research on ecofriendly disposables! You’re definitely right…a hot dog on china or glass just doesn’t feel the same. I do a lot of entertaining and these tips will be useful in the future! 🙂 Thanks again!

    • I am glad you find it helpful. If you do a lot of entertaining buying in bulk really shaves down the price. Who ever says I have too many disposable plates anyway?

Leave a Reply

