Please Turn Your Engine Off…

My husband and I recently went on vacation in Vermont. On our drive up, we stopped at a rest area in New Hampshire where we came across this interesting sign posted in the rest area parking lot.

Even though I was on my honeymoon, I thought “this would make an awesome post!” (I’m either that dedicated or that crazy, I know).

Even though I was on my honeymoon, I thought “this would make an awesome post!” (I’m either that dedicated or that crazy, I know).

When I got back, I decided to do some digging and get some information on the New Hampshire Idling Regulations and here is what I found:  

  • When the temperature is above 0 oC (32 oF), a gasoline engine shall not idle for more than 5 consecutive minutes;
  • When the temperature is -23 oC (-10 oF), 0 oC (32 oF), or anywhere in between the 2 temperatures, a gasoline engine shall not idle for more than 15 consecutive minutes; or
  • When the temperature is below -23 oC (-10 oF), and where no nuisance is created, a gasoline engine shall not be subject to idling restrictions.

Above are the regulations for gasoline powered cars. Diesel engines have different standards. You can read the full regulations here.

This seems like such a good idea to me. Yes I am guilty of warming my car up in the winter, but never for more that 5-10 minutes. I think that every state should pass this kind of regulation.

What do you all think?

Posted by: Lauren

One Response

  1. This is one area of conservation I have never thought of. I think this is a great idea – I am also amazed that this is being spearheaded by a state that revolves around the phrase “live free or die” and a state that still allows smoking indoors. Perhaps the vast forestry and tourism is the main driver. Cheers to New Hampshire.

Leave a Reply

