Abby’s Blog: Kids Helping the Earth – Spring Clean Up

I live in RI and when Spring comes so do the days of my mom taking us for walks on the beach. My mom always brings a garbage bag with her so she can pick up trash that has piled up over the winter.  We’ve picked up everything from piles of rope to plastic bottles to broken toys and even a lunchbox! Our town always has a big beach clean up day and we’ve gone a number of times but my mom says if everybody picked up trash that they saw at the beach, even if its not theirs, our beaches and oceans would be so much cleaner. My mom hates trash on the beach but the things she hates the most are plastic bags; she says that seals, fish, dolphins and other wildlife can try and eat them because they look like food but can get really hurt if they swallow a plastic bag.  I want to swim in the ocean for a long time and I promise I will pick up trash everyday when I go to the beach. Can you make that promise too?

Posted by Abby: age 5 years 10 months 2 weeks 4 days…and counting

Leave a Reply

