Abby’s Blog: Kids Helping the Earth 19 – Break the Nightlight Habit

It may not seem like much but if you give up your nightlight you are saving electricity. I’ve been practicing. When I first got to bed I talk with my animals and I get to keep my light on, but when mom comes in and says we’re done, I turn off my nightlight and close my eyes. Since it is dark when my eyes are closed I hardly notice! Try it, over the year, my mom told  me we could save more than 100 kw of electricity. It may not seem like much, but think about if everyone in your kindergarten class did it. And then what if everyone in all the kindergartens did it? Then what about the whole school? Then all the school’s in the state. When you think about it, that is a lot of nightlights!

posted by Abby age 5 and 8 months

Leave a Reply

