Even Better Than the Library

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a huge book nerd.  Some women have shoe addictions, I have a book addiction.  I simply cannot walk into a book store without picking up at least two, if not seven books to take to the check-out.  This drives my mother crazy as she works for a library and cannot understand my need to spend $13.95 every time I want to read something.  It’s simple, I tell her.  It isn’t just reading the books.  It’s having them, owning them, being able to reread passages and chapters of your favorites at a moment’s notice.

It is for this reason that I was so excited to find the website Paperback Swap.  Though I’m not sure how it took me this long to come across such an amazing site, it is truly a haven for book worms everywhere.  Once you’ve created an account, you can list up to 10 books at a time that you may have in your collection that you no longer want to read or are willing to part with.  Members of Paperback Swap can then go and request one of your books for free and you then, for the cost of postage, ship it to them.  In return, you receive 1 credit for a book of your choice and can browse the millions of selections available in the database.  Every book you give away gives you the opportunity to gain another book. 

This is not only a fantastic way of exchanging goods and reusing materials but it keeps our consumerism in check and helps to reduce the amount we waste.  If you love a good book and also love the idea of saving money, Paperback Swap is worth checking out.

Posted by: Ashley / ashleyatcaster on Twitter

Leave a Reply

