(home)made for the Earth

As a huge fan of Etsy, the online site dedicated to buying and selling homemade goods, I was so excited to learn that a group of sellers got together to form EcoEtsy.  According to their website, EcoEsty is a  “global group of like minded individuals who have come together to practice and spread the word about reducing, reusing and recycling.”  Through their website and blog, the team works to promote reuse of packaging and materials, provide tips to sellers who want to be more green in their practices, raise funds for non-profit organizations through auctions and sales,  and educate consumers on eco-friendly lifestyles. 

Etsy itself is an excellent source for those looking to buy unique, low-impact items made by individuals around the world.  I did a bulk of my Christmas shopping on Etsy and found it to be so much more pleasant than visiting a big-box retailer in the midst of the holiday chaos.  Because Etsy sellers tend to only make one or a handful of their items at a time, you can be pretty sure that your item is one of a kind. 

I perused through the EcoEtsy website in search of some of my favorite items.  Enjoy!

Striped iPod Sock in Blue & Green

ecoetsy-ipodI just received a new iPod Nano for Christmas and was shocked at how small it actually was – feeling almost breakable in my hands.  I have been looking for a cute little case for when I travel and this is probably the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.  Akin to a tiny sweater for your iPod, the sock is made from recycled cotton yarn and comes with a clasp at the top to hold the device in place.

Price: $13.00

 

Little William HandBag
ecoetsy-handbag

If I thought I needed another cute handbag, I would jump all over this.  Not only is it uniquely designed with tweed patterns, it is made from old suit jackets – inside and out.  This is a brilliant way to reuse old clothes and recreate something stylish. 

Price: $120

 

 

goodkarma :: journal

ecoetsy-notebookEven though I don’t need new journals or notebooks, they are things that I can’t help but drool over.  This one in particular, with its hand stitched Poe quote on the cover and it’s cloth design – my wallet is probably going to take a hit doing research for this blog post!  (Side note: goodkarma, a recently found seller on Etsy, has some amazing items and is worth checking out altogether – I am coveting half of her shop!)

Price: $26

 

I am a huge advocate of buying local, and Etsy gives you the option to search sellers by state and city so you can find handmade goods in your area.  Anyone interested in trying to spend their dollars on more feel good products should absolutely check out this online mecca. 

Posted by: Ashley / ashleyatcaster on Twitter

14 Responses

  1. Thanks for the nice feature about Team EcoEtsy! I joined a few months ago, it’s been great meeting other artists who share the same goal.

  2. Thanks so much for writing about our team! I’ve passed your link along to team members.

    ~Kate
    Co-Leader of the EcoEtsy Street Team

  3. i may be a little biased but i do think the EcoEtsy team is the best group of shops and people anywhere. truly wonderful, green-minded people. thanks so much for the feature!

  4. It’s amazing what the EcoEtsy crafters create!

  5. @Lauren, Kate, goodkarma – thank you all for having such an awesome community. You guys rock.

    @erin – I’m always impressed!

    -Ashley

  6. Great article- love being part of the team!!

    http://eastcoastkitsch.etsy.com

  7. Hooray for like-minded individuals!

    I’m biased too, but EcoEtsy really is such a terrific team, and the individuals you’ve chosen here are great examples of those creating responsibly and beautifully. Kudos. 😀

  8. I am so glad to find this blog! This is an awesome team to be a part of!
    bobbie

  9. I too love etsy but also think buying locally is very important. Good idea to remember to check for local etsians!

  10. great article, I love being part of this team and it is nice to see that our team gets to be known.

  11. to all – thanks for the comments and I really do appreciate the site very much. It is lovely to find a community of like-minded thinkers.

    -Ashley

  12. Go team Eco Etsy!

  13. I like the layout of your blog and I’m going to do the same thing for mine. Do you have any tips? Please PM ME on yahoo @ AmandaLovesYou702

  14. As a member of EcoEtsy I browse other members shops on regularly looking for beautiful, handmade, green gifts.

Leave a Reply

