The Green Twinkie: Nutrition Labels on Green Goods

We need nutrition labels on green packaged goods. Just like the food we eat – I can read a label and know its filled with sugar, sodium, fat, protein and fiber; why can’t I know the same facts about a green house or a chair or can of paint. I should be able to look at it an see if it saves me energy costs, what its lifecycle rating is, what its IAQ VOCs are, what its recycled content is, what land was ravaged to make it so green, and if  a third part certified it. When I look at the label I may decided it has a bad lifecycle but it saves me $80 a year on my electric bill and I am ok with that. At least I had the information to decide to buy. I’ve read the label on a twinkie. I have still eaten a twinkie. But I did so when I was empowered with knowledge.

Yes, twinkie knowledge is empowerment to ingest or pass it up; I believe that green labels owe us the same respect.

Photos courtesy of Michelle Kaufmann designs Picture Courtesy of Michelle Kauffman Designs

KDL | follow me on Twitter: newscaster

One Response

  1. […] Driving Clean, California Leads the Way Posted on January 6, 2009 by castercomm Remember our post on nutrition labels for the environment?  Well, it seems that California has taken the first step in this direction by […]

Leave a Reply

