LEED for Homes Hypocrisy, No Energy Savings Required

What was my big surprise in filling out the first phase of my LEED for Homes Simplified Project Checklist? Energy & Atmosphere has zero required points for residential homes. ZERO. I have spent six months planning for this step, but I was so focused on maximizing the points we could acheive in E&A (it is a spot where you can max out) that somehow I missed that it had no prerequisites, no required points.

LEED stands for Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design.

So this is a home certification program for Energy & Environmental design that has no requirements for energy in a residential project. You do have to get 2 points in a commercial project, just so we don’t think this is too easy.

Am I the only person who finds this hypocritical? I have learned so much going through this process. In fact I am highly considering taking the LEED AP exam at Green Build in Boston in 2 weeks, but I don’t want to doubt this system. I believe in green building, sustainable design, site stewardship.

This certification program is being sold to builders and consumers at a significant investment in time and money. If at the end of the day, when a consumer goes real estate shopping and they are weighing a home that is LEED certified verses one that is not, they should be able to count on its energy efficiencies as a guarantee. The fact that erosion control during construction occurred will probably not mean that much when their home heating bill is high because no one sealed the home’s building envelope.

Come on LEED, step it up.

KDL  | follow my quick project updates and green news on Twitter: newscaster

Leave a Reply

